Month: October 2008

  • TRICK OR TREAT!

    MAY I
    PLEASE HAVE


    SOMETHING GOOD


    TO EAT!!!

    I hope everyone has a very
    happy
    candy filled
    Halloween!
    We get a lot of trick or treaters here… probably over 150 kids easily
    My favorite neighbor kiddies come early. I have special bags for them.

    brrrr it got down to 27 last night. that might be a record here in the Broadvalleylands of Virginia
    Did you hear about the snow in UK.
    I hear that they were having a “global warming meeting” going on there while it was snowing

    ps: I know all of you love candy
    What is your favorite candy??
    What is the candy that you hate?

    my favorite candy is everything, except squishy candy with fruit bits.
    I like just about everything.
    I bought a sack of Malted milk balls and ate a few of those packages “for testing purposes only”
    and now I have had enough of that kind of thing

    My favorite favorite candy is actually dutch licorice
    dubbel zout rondjes and griotten

    don’t forget to brush

    oh I forgot:
    keep reading
    read the article on the cabbage patch kids too!

    HAPPY HALLOWEEN
    from my blog to yours.

  • I have been busy, and doing a lot to get ready for this trip to Tennessee.
    It is only 5 days but I am taking my parents, so it will be a slow roadtrip.
    I am looking forward to it. Christabelle is coming along too so it will be the 4 of us. Hopefully I will write something about this next week before I blast off.
    Hubby will stay home with the kitties.
    He has work to do here, his job, duh. Oh btw, last week he had to go into the Pentagon to renew/update his Top Security Clearance.
    You don’t pass it, you do not get top security clearance, it is simple as that.
    Hubby passed.
    Hmmmmm I am thinking of someone right now, I am wondering if he could pass the Top Security Clearance…..

    I skated twice this week.
    I reeeeeally need to get my blades sharpened.

    Did you watch the BHO Show last night?
    So, I wonder if anyone is going to do a thorough investigation on all of those people that Obama had on his show.
    you know… like Joe the Plumber has his closets cleaned out.

    I found this on a Hillary PUMA website:
    Hillbuzz.wordpress.com

    http://countryfirst.bravehost.com/images/anibadmen.gif

    Blizzie working hard.
    Photo taken on photobooth on her MacBook @ college

    I think I will go for a long long walk now.
    be well and happy
    ps: my mom gave me a photo of me when I was 17
    working as a “candy striper” volunteer at the local hospital
    I will try to scan it and put it up here.

    A closed mind is like a locked door,
    unless the right key is found nothing enters.
    Unfortunately for many the key will be hindsight.
  • skating in one hour
    *yawn* I know, I slept in

    have a groovy day
    I know mine is gonna be supergroovy

    Lookie, two kitties snuggling.

    This is a first over here.
    I am not absolutley sure what Prinnie thinks but … well, look at her face.
    She actually turned around, curled back up, and went back t o sleep.

    Love to all

    “Basic research

    is what I am doing

    when I don’t know

    what I am doing.”

    ~Wernher von Braun

  • An excellent write up by Orson Scott Card (a democrat)
    Have a lovely day everyone.
    I jsut returned from the rink. Had an okay skate. nothing spectacular.
    I love all of you very much

    Print this page

    E-mail this page




    WorldWatch

    First appeared in print in The Rhinoceros Times, Greensboro, NC


    By Orson Scott Card October 5, 2008

    Would the Last Honest Reporter Please Turn On the Lights?

    An open letter to the local daily paper — almost every local daily paper in
    America:

    I remember reading All the President’s Men and thinking: That’s journalism.
    You do what it takes to get the truth and you lay it before the public, because
    the public has a right to know.

    This housing crisis didn’t come out of nowhere. It was not a vague emanation
    of the evil Bush administration.

    It was a direct result of the political decision, back in the late 1990s, to loosen
    the rules of lending so that home loans would be more accessible to poor
    people. Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac were authorized to approve risky loans.

    What is a risky loan? It’s a loan that the recipient is likely not to be able to
    repay.

    The goal of this rule change was to help the poor — which especially would
    help members of minority groups. But how does it help these people to give
    them a loan that they can’t repay? They get into a house, yes, but when they
    can’t make the payments, they lose the house — along with their credit rating.

    They end up worse off than before.

    This was completely foreseeable and in fact many people did foresee it. One
    political party, in Congress and in the executive branch, tried repeatedly to
    tighten up the rules. The other party blocked every such attempt and tried to
    loosen them.

    Furthermore, Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae were making political contributions
    to the very members of Congress who were allowing them to make irresponsible
    loans. (Though why quasi-federal agencies were allowed to do so baffles me.
    It’s as if the Pentagon were allowed to contribute to the political campaigns of
    Congressmen who support increasing their budget.)

    Isn’t there a story here? Doesn’t journalism require that you who produce our
    daily paper tell the truth about who brought us to a position where the only
    way to keep confidence in our economy was a $700 billion bailout? Aren’t you
    supposed to follow the money and see which politicians were benefitting
    personally from the deregulation of mortgage lending?

    I have no doubt that if these facts had pointed to the Republican Party or to
    John McCain as the guilty parties, you would be treating it as a vast scandal.
    “Housing-gate,” no doubt. Or “Fannie-gate.”

    Instead, it was Senator Christopher Dodd and Congressman Barney Frank,
    both Democrats, who denied that there were any problems, who refused Bush
    administration requests to set up a regulatory agency to watch over Fannie
    Mae and Freddie Mac, and who were still pushing for these agencies to go even
    further in promoting subprime mortgage loans almost up to the minute they
    failed.

    As Thomas Sowell points out in a TownHall.com essay entitled Do Facts
    Matter?
    “Alan Greenspan
    warned them four years ago. So did the Chairman of the Council of Economic
    Advisers to the President. So did Bush’s Secretary of the Treasury.”

    These are facts. This financial crisis was completely preventable. The party
    that blocked any attempt to prevent it was … the Democratic Party. The party
    that tried to prevent it was … the Republican Party.

    Yet when Nancy Pelosi accused the Bush administration and Republican
    deregulation of causing the crisis, you in the press did not hold her to account
    for her lie. Instead, you criticized Republicans who took offense at this lie and
    refused to vote for the bailout!

    What? It’s not the liar, but the victims of the lie who are to blame?

    Now let’s follow the money … right to the presidential candidate who is the
    number-two recipient of campaign contributions from Fannie Mae.

    And after Freddie Raines, the CEO of Fannie Mae who made $90 million while
    running it into the ground, was fired for his incompetence, one presidential
    candidate’s campaign actually consulted him for advice on housing.

    If that presidential candidate had been John McCain, you would have called it
    a major scandal and we would be getting stories in your paper every day about
    how incompetent and corrupt he was.

    But instead, that candidate was Barack Obama, and so you have buried this
    story, and when the McCain campaign dared to call Raines an “adviser” to the
    Obama campaign — because that campaign had sought his advice — you
    actually let Obama’s people get away with accusing McCain of lying, merely
    because Raines wasn’t listed as an official adviser to the Obama campaign.

    You would never tolerate such weasely nit-picking from a Republican.

    If you who produce our local daily paper actually had any principles, you would
    be pounding this story, because the prosperity of all Americans was put at risk
    by the foolish, short-sighted, politically selfish, and possibly corrupt actions of
    leading Democrats, including Obama.

    If you who produce our local daily paper had any personal honor, you would
    find it unbearable to let the American people believe that somehow Republicans
    were to blame for this crisis.

    There are precedents. Even though President Bush and his administration
    never said that Iraq sponsored or was linked to 9/11, you could not stand the
    fact that Americans had that misapprehension — so you pounded us with the
    fact that there was no such link. (Along the way, you created the false
    impression that Bush had lied to them and said that there was a connection.)

    If you had any principles, then surely right now, when the American people are
    set to blame President Bush and John McCain for a crisis they tried to prevent,
    and are actually shifting to approve of Barack Obama because of a crisis he
    helped cause, you would be laboring at least as hard to correct that false
    impression.

    Your job, as journalists, is to tell the truth. That’s what you claim you do,
    when you accept people’s money to buy or subscribe to your paper.

    But right now, you are consenting to or actively promoting a big fat lie — that
    the housing crisis should somehow be blamed on Bush, McCain, and the
    Republicans. You have trained the American people to blame everything bad –
    even bad weather — on Bush, and they are responding as you have taught
    them to.

    If you had any personal honor, each reporter and editor would be insisting on
    telling the truth — even if it hurts the election chances of your favorite
    candidate.

    Because that’s what honorable people do. Honest people tell the truth even
    when they don’t like the probable consequences. That’s what honesty means.
    That’s how trust is earned.

    Barack Obama is just another politician, and not a very wise one. He has
    revealed his ignorance and naivete time after time — and you have swept it
    under the rug, treated it as nothing.

    Meanwhile, you have participated in the borking of Sarah Palin, reporting
    savage attacks on her for the pregnancy of her unmarried daughter — while
    you ignored the story of John Edwards’s own adultery for many months.

    So I ask you now: Do you have any standards at all? Do you even know what
    honesty means?

    Is getting people to vote for Barack Obama so important that you will throw
    away everything that journalism is supposed to stand for?

    You might want to remember the way the National Organization of Women
    threw away their integrity by supporting Bill Clinton despite his well-known
    pattern of sexual exploitation of powerless women. Who listens to NOW
    anymore? We know they stand for nothing; they have no principles.

    That’s where you are right now.

    It’s not too late. You know that if the situation were reversed, and the truth
    would damage McCain and help Obama, you would be moving heaven and
    earth to get the true story out there.

    If you want to redeem your honor, you will swallow hard and make a list of all
    the stories you would print if it were McCain who had been getting money from
    Fannie Mae, McCain whose campaign had consulted with its discredited former
    CEO, McCain who had voted against tightening its lending practices.

    Then you will print them, even though every one of those true stories will point
    the finger of blame at the reckless Democratic Party, which put our nation’s
    prosperity at risk so they could feel good about helping the poor, and lay a fair
    share of the blame at Obama’s door.

    You will also tell the truth about John McCain: that he tried, as a Senator, to
    do what it took to prevent this crisis. You will tell the truth about President
    Bush: that his administration tried more than once to get Congress to regulate
    lending in a responsible way.

    This was a Congress-caused crisis, beginning during the Clinton
    administration, with Democrats leading the way into the crisis and blocking
    every effort to get out of it in a timely fashion.

    If you at our local daily newspaper continue to let Americans believe –and vote
    as if — President Bush and the Republicans caused the crisis, then you are
    joining in that lie.

    If you do not tell the truth about the Democrats — including Barack Obama –
    and do so with the same energy you would use if the miscreants were
    Republicans — then you are not journalists by any standard.

    You’re just the public relations machine of the Democratic Party, and it’s time
    you were all fired and real journalists brought in, so that we can actually have
    a daily newspaper in our city.

  • Thomas Sowell is a brilliant man
    You might enjoy his editorials

    http://www.ibdeditorial.com/AuthorProfile.aspx?id=255303084236086

    I hope all of you are doing dandyfine.
    We are having chilly weather here. I am liking it. Not so many hot flashes.
    freezing temps at night already, kind of early, but I am okay with that.
    I guess I will be cleaning up gardens this week-end…
    Skating tomorrow
    Not a very busy week.

    Hubby and I are discussing what we might do in an Obama presidency.
    hmmmmm

    He will retire.
    I will get a job
    sounds like a plan.

    Pierro being dangerous:
    >click to biggify<

    Prinnie 10 weeks old, 1991

    It is easy
    to take liberty for granted,

    when you have never had it
    taken from you.
  • What have I done! …?

    I have healed up fast. I can wash my hand and do stuff as long as I am careful.
    Thanks for the encouraging words.
    You are loved by me.

    What a week.
    Blizkin is home. I drove out to W-burg to get her. Fall break.
    She has a 10 page paper to write.

    she must go back on Tuesday.

    Last Monday I went to the rink and skated with my band-aid fingers and all.
    I wore a mitten
    putting my boots on was okay, I have gotten used to using my thumb, forefinger and pinky for everything on my left hand.
    Apres skating we went out to lunch at a restaurant in Rockville.
    I really had no idea where I was, I mean I know my way around Maryland sort of but not all of those places.
    So I followed Pauline.
    I got home at 3:00 that day. Wow, what a blast though.
    We have decided that we must go out to lunch together every month.  So many things to discuss.
    This first time, it was just 8 of us.

    There are some very interesting things going on, “rink drama”
    luckily none of it involves me
    I cannot explain any of it because some of it is just too bizarre, relationships, and a guy that just started attending the Monday session.
    He has boobs, no not manboobs, really bra holding boobs.
    I cannot go on any more about it… just too puzzling for my mind, no he is not a woman. I am sure of that

    So, how do you feel about this election? Is it going on long enough for you?
    It is all settling in here.
    I already voted absentee so I am done.
    How racism got injected into this… have you heard of spin? how about spin and chicago politic machine?
    One person said “terrorist” ONE person said “kill him” and the media went WILD
    very very dishonest and dirty.
    have you heard the things that have been said about John McCain?
    makes me sad sad sad
    Now, we are preparing for the downward spiral, the thought police
    will we have to turn in our friends if they say bad things about the … you know, Oblahblah?
    He is already preparing us. negativity will not be tolerated, neither will the truth, so sit down and shut up because you do not know what the truth is anyway, do you!
    hoo boy
    Or will this be like Jimmuh Carter II? Somehow I do not think so.
    this all reminds me of the book 1984. I don’t know why.
    I do not want more US government – this issue alone… I have a million thoughts about
    having been involved with with “action committees” in the past, this is not a good thing.
    You keep people down. You do not want them to get up. If they leave “the system”, they… God forbid! vote republican!!
    and that… is NEVER a good thing. so we have to tamp that right out

    I do not have much more to share… I will try to visit around soon.
    right now… I must bake some oatmeal cookies.
    I need cookies.
    be well friends

    When you are through changing,
    you are through. 

    ~Bruce Barton

  • well, i can’t do much of anything else so i guess i will blog
    harrrrumpfff

    this morning i slept until 8:00, pierro came in the room [hubby let him out of his prison room] and he tickled me awake with his whiskers.
    he is so cute

    I can hardly type here.
    I cut two of my fingers this morning playing with yard tools i put my hand in the hedge clippers to get the branch and it took my glove and chomped my fingers
    oh i am feeling whiny

    so when i realized i cut my fingers (blood+pain) i ran into the house and got some cold wet wash clothes and hubby drove me to the urgent care place. they took me right away.
    i got a shot not tetanus, but Tdap, whatever, i did not think much about it  but man that shot is making me feel crummy, like icky in my stomach
    so, they GLUED MY FINGERS BACK TOGETHER and put some bandages on. I have been doing nothing much today… gosh i had a long list of stuffs i was going to do.

    *sigh* oh well.
    I am going to try to take a shower because i want one. i will have to cover my fingers
    monday i am going to go to the rink but i will force my friends to tie my boots. after we skate i will force my friends to help me deboot,
    and then all of us are going out to eat lunch together at some restaurant in bethesda or someplace.

    boy i hope katie couric is proud of herself. she needs to stop batting her eyes so much too.

    Look, i am not crazy about john mccain, i love sarah palin, she is a very intelligent lady, i have seen many interviews with her back in january before she was
    nominated for vp. she is much different. very genuine. i voted for romney in the primaries.  big shock. i was not too worried if hillary won. really.
    She is a moderate person.
    anyway, sarah palin:
    i love those midwest dialects. she sounds like my sister in law (hubby’s sister), exactly.
    So anyway, i am voting for john mccain because the alternative is too frightning to imagine. I am not a rabid republican.
    I am a pretty moderate person in my beliefs. my parents are life long dems so i do not think being liberal is horrible. I have many liberal friends. it is okay with me.

    oblama though… he is very extreme and he is campaigning as a moderate, same with biden. two super libs with some very bad ideas.
    the change you will see is change in your pocket.
    Nazi pelosi would not be where she is today except for the fact that she is a senator in the most  extreme liberal parts of California.
    she should resign, so should Blarney Frank, Harry Greed and Chris “countrywide” Fraud. yeah, bush was a dope but he was being bullied around by the Nazi Pelosi
    Oh and lets not forget Barack “fanniemae” Obama, he was the lawyer, the “trainer” for that wonderful outfit called ACORN! taught those people there how to bully mortgage companies…. how about them apples?

    so. i thought i would say that. i feel better now

    This tdap shot is making me feel super krappy, i have a headache too, bleh
    this is my baby and i love him, he loves me and hubby
    now, i am going to try and take a shower

    The great thing, if one can,
    is to stop regarding all the unpleasant things
    as interruptions of one’s own or real life.

    The truth is, of course,
    that what one calls the interruptions are precisely one’s real life
    - the life God is sending one day by day.
    C. S. Lewis


  • Oh yeah
    This is what the snowman does in the summer

    mmmmm yummy huh?

    just don’t order choklit

    I hope you are all well.
    I will uppiedate soon…. maybe tomorrow.
    I have been busy lazy and a tad bit krabby

    This whole bail out thing has me really ticked. And Nancy Pelosi’s speech…
    I swearz if I was standing next to her I would have popped her in the nose.
    Want more of that? you know what to do then…. Obama was #3 on the prize list, he’s your man
    I am snarky too

    okayokay.
    Laters
    really
    be well

    moi

    I predict future happiness for Americans
    if they can prevent the government
    from wasting the labors of the people
    under the pretense of taking care of them.

    Thomas Jefferson

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories